Saturday, 4 December 2021 | News today: 0

Macedonia joins Eurodesk ­- EU youth mobility network


Macedonia has become a member of Eurodesk ­ the European network, established as a permanent support structure of the Youth in Action Programme of the European Union to provide high quality information and advice concerning Europe to young people and those who work with them.

In over 30 European countries, there are national coordinators, networks of local information providers and cooperation partners, who can act as contact points to the European Eurodesk network. The office in Brussels facilitates the management and coordination of the Eurodesk Network, its activities and services.

In 1998, the national partners within the Eurodesk network formed an ‘Association Internationale’ (EURODESK AISBL) under Belgian law to manage the affairs of the network and run the coordination office ­ Eurodesk European Office.

The members of this Association are the Eurodesk national partners. They meet twice a year at network meetings to discuss and manage the network’s affairs.

Darko Dimitrov, Director of Macedonia’s National Agency for Educational Programms and Mobility, has been attending this week an annual Eurodesk meeting, organized by the EURODESK AISBL in Brussels.

At this meeting, the National Agency has acquired a status of an official member of this significant European institution, which will enable to the citizens of Macedonia to be included in European youth campaigns, get high-­quality information on possibilities for mobility across Europe, as well as about the Erazmus Plus (EU programme for education, training, youth and sport), Dimtrov told MIA.

Furthermore, Macedonia will be included in setting up the European Youth Week 2015, which is to be organized under the auspices of the European Commission in all member countries. A total of 33 European countries will be organizing events and activities for young people around the themes of participation, inclusion and employment. Each country will run its week at some time during the period 27 April to 10 May.